RSS

Making you feel right at HOME

01 Dec

Home cover art

‘Back and forth I’ll go.. one day i may know.. what its like to stay in one place.. but for now.. back and forth I’ll go. Up and down the coast.. highways get me lost.. but I never forget my home.. as I go up and down this coast.. ” – The Novel Ideas

Last year I was raving about The Novel Ideas – Summer Demos as one of of the greatest compilations of music ever. Some people out there – ie. Matthew Bishop – argue that I say that for most, if not all music, however it’s important for me to distinguish just how special The Novel Ideas truly are.

Their latest work “Home” came out a few months back and set off in a new direction and a new sound for the Boston-base crew. It is a beautifully crafted album that showcases all the unique talents possessed by each and everyone of the Ideas. The album thrives off its heart and sincerity — as the carefully chosen words, sounds and harmonies make for a warm-and-fuzzy listening experience.. one that you won’t want to listen to JUST once.

I’ve sprinted to their shows in Boston after getting off of 30 hour flights.. Lizzie and I have their album cover pasted to the back of our front door in Cape Town.. and putting this album on, no matter where I am in the world, makes me feel.. right at..

Plum’s Picks

The Novel Ideas – Promise   A powerful, pop-y soul soother.  “i’ll protect you, if i had to.. so the bad parts.. never get through”

The Novel Ideas – Back and Forth    This song hits home for a traveller like myself.. gets me a little choked up even. (see quote above)

[NAME YOUR OWN PRICE and get the album below!]

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 1, 2012 in Folk

 

One response to “Making you feel right at HOME

  1. Carla

    December 1, 2012 at 11:03 am

    Love this album. Thanks for sharing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
